RACT Association of Tasmania
"Par Oneri"
RACT Association of Tasmania - Home
Upcoming Events & News
History of RACT & RAASC in Tasmania
Federation Star - 40 years service
Federation Star - 40 years service

The Federation Star - 40 Years Service

To be eligible for the Defence Long Service Medal (DLSM) 15 years of service must be reached. At each subsequent 5 years of service, a clasp is presented and worn on the medal. Clasps are therefore presented at 20, 25, 30, and 35 years of service. These are replaced by a single silver Federation Star for the fifth clasp. Additional Federation Star emblems are added for subsequent clasps.

The Commonwealth Star (also known as the Federation Star, the Seven Point Star, or the Star of Federation) is a seven-pointed star symbolising the Federation of Australia which came into force on 1 January 1901. Six points of the Star represent the six original states of the Commonwealth of Australia, while the seventh point represents the territories and any future states.

The Following members of the Royal Australian Corps of Transport in the Tasmania Region have been presented with the Federation Star.

2010 - Sergeant Grant Munday, 44 Transport Squadron.

2012 - Major Annette Wyatt, Operations Officer, 2nd
Force Support Battalion.

2012 - Warrant Officer Class One Paul Vickers, Defence Reserves Support and Army History Unit.

Second Federation Star - 45 Years Service

2017 -Major Annette Wyatt, OC, 6LSC, 2nd Force Support Battalion.